Game Design – Week 8 – Logic, Flowcharts, and Coding

“Binary code” by Christiaan Colen is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

When asked the most important thing I should teach my students, the MIT student I was interviewing simply stated , ‘ teach them logic.’ – Mr. Le Duc

SUMMARY

  • My week went very well. I have learned a lot about the very basics of coding and can’t wait to learn more.

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

PlayCanvas

Screenshot from Sololearn.com

Unity

Screenshot from Sololearn.com
  • 3rd lesson

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Image from https://monkeyblogmonkeydo.com/2010/07/19/so-duh-pop-quiz-classic-video-game-flowchart-edition/
  • oval is start
  • square is process
  • diamond is choice
  • rectangle with wavy lines on the bottom is a report
  • the diamond causes branching in flowcharts.
  • flowcharts usually is top to bottom or left ot right.

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

  • I learned that each shape in the flow charts means something. I never learned any coding at all, but it is very interesting. I also learned that games are based off of flowcharts and not just data and code.

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

  • I learned that some people believe that creativity and death is somehow linked. It is like an idea that if you do something you like to do, it takes a bit of your own life.

STUDIO (GAME DESIGN)

Unity

Screenshot from Unity.com

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • Tell your daily story here!  Highlight what you learned and enjoyed most and at least one problem you solved. Problem-solving is one of the most important skills you need in life. Employers want to know HOW you get stuff done as much as WHAT you got done.
  • DELETE ALL OF MR. LE DUC’s INSTRUCTIONS, AFTER YOU ARE DONE
  • While I was working in my martial arts dojang, I was tasked to help students learn a part of a new form. They were having a little trouble with where they put their hands. I had them focus on one hand at a time then slowly get faster with it. They were able to do the motion correctly after that.

WEEKLY ACTIVITY EVALUATION

Finished the survey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *