Game Design – Week 7 – Tools, Time, and Rooms

CreativeCommons image Tool Stash by Meena Kadri at Flickr.com

SUMMARY

This week has been very good for me. I wasn’t too busy which helped me find time to do other things.

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

  • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T5vc7OKo1TM&t=378s
  • This video is made by Sykoo and he focuses on many things like lighting and cameras with a simple and effective way to do things.

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

I have learned that the first game has to be very simple. as simple as just squares with some mechanics. This will allow the designer to test and refine on a very strong foundation. After you think the foundation is good enough, then we are allowed to slowly add features in. Lastly, the features like enemy types or power ups are actually not the content or the basic things you need for games.

Game Genres from the Simplest and Most Difficult to Create

  1. Racing Game
  2. Top-Down Shooter
  3. 2d Platformer
  4. Color Matching Puzzle Game
  5. 2D Puzzle Platformer
  6. 3D Platformer
  7. FPS
  8. JRPG
  9. Fighting Game
  10. Action Adventure
  11. Western RPG
  12. RTS

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

I have learned that when designing games, there are always going to be flaws within the game. Some flaws can’t be fixed because of budgets and money. I have also learned that a good game designer plays every type of game, no matter how bad it is. Game designers will also have to learn a way to observe and experience something at the same time.

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

When I was outside, I thought about what I had to do today. I thought of accomplishing my music for piano today. I didn’t really think of a lot. I just enjoyed my time outside with my dogs.

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

  1. Movement
  2. Balancing game
  3. Camera views
  4. Level design
  5. Difficulty

The game is a 2d platformer. The game would be similar to Mario but simplified. There would be levels that increase in difficulty each time you complete a level. So it would start easy and progressively get harder.

WEEKLY ACTIVITY EVALUATION

Finished the survey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *